Alex Ovechkin

Alexander Ovechkin

Another late night pack of cards. After the lackluster players I got yesterday, I’m hoping to find a few players who I love or hate.

I’ve been thinking about what kind of player collection I’d like to start. Seeing as I am a Buffalo Sabres fan, I’ve been mulling over different players. I’m thinking about starting on the ground floor and working at getting Sabres-jersey’d Christian Ehrhoff or Robyn Regher. Their addition to the team was definitly welcome, despite the club failing on defense so many times throughout the young season. But hey, the Sabres are leading the division by a tiebreaker… so things could still go well. Another option is Thomas Vanek, seeing as I already have a few of his cards…

Hmmm…

Anyway, let’s get this seventh pack out of the way!

Have I mentioned how much I love this version of the Artifacts cards? They just look so nice… and the thicker material makes handling them more fun.

Card #1:

Joe Thornton (base card). A mainstay on my fantasy team, he has proven himself time and time again in this league.

Card #2:

Peter Forsberg (base card). COOL. Another older hockey player who was resurrected into this set. But at this point, he was still playing… Maybe only nine games, but still. That’s awesome.

Card #3:

Evgeni Nabokov (base card). The second Shark of the pack.

Card #4:

Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flame (base card)… I remember being afraid of having the Sabres play against this guy. He seems to have softened up a bit since joining the Leafs, but still has his hard shot.

Card #5:

Alexander Ovechkin (base card). I guess I got my wish with this pack, getting some great players instead of third liners…

I won’t argue with these base cards. Honestly, I feel this pack had the most value of any of the seven I’ve selected so far. Between Forsberg and Ovechkin, there were some good players here.

Last pack of Artifacts 2008-2009 tomorrow, then we move onto 2009-2010!

Leave a Reply

